Explore Your Destination Country After Arrival

How do you make new friends and connections in your destination country?
Can you still benefit from student discounts as an intern?

As soon as you have arrived in your target country, you will need to consider a few organizational aspects such as registering your address with the local authorities in your new city.
Besides these organizational aspects… you will quickly immerse yourself in your new home if you approach your environment in an open-minded and active way, such as including many trips to cultural and sporting events in your schedule. Current events and offers can usually be found on social media, posters around the city, or local websites.

How to Get to Your Destination Country

You can reach your destination country by plane, train, bus, with your own car, or by ride-sharing. Check different websites for transportation tickets and make sure to look for discounts and offers for students or young adults.

Here are some websites for comparing flight, bus, and train tickets:

Mobile Phone & Internet

In order to avoid an expensive phone bill because you made a few too many calls outside Europe, it is advisable to purchase a prepaid SIM card from a local provider. Within the EU, additional roaming costs for your mobile phone have been eliminated thanks to EU roaming. Find out here about country-specific tariffs and prepaid SIM cards or ask your mobile phone provider about international tariff plans.

Networking with Locals and International Students

Making connections with locals and other interns will give you unforgettable memories to take home from your life abroad. Meeting new people can lead to learning about the best accommodation in the city, where you can rent/buy a bicycle, tips on where to hang out at night, and much more.

You can also find internship network groups in many cities that offer weekly meetings and regulars’ tables. These groups can be found on social media (such as Facebook and Instagram) when you look up keywords like “city + internship”. For example, you can find a Geneva Intern Association (GIA) for Geneva, Brussels Interns for a stay in Brussels, and many others. There are also regulars’ tables and weekly meetings by and for students at universities where you are welcome as an intern or university staff member.

International Student Cards for Discounts

ISIC:
You can save tons of money with the International Student Identity Card (ISIC) because you get worldwide discounts by using the card in specific places. For detailed information on the card and application process, please visit the ISIC website. Do not forget to apply for the card early so that you benefit from advantages upon departure.

ESN:
With a membership card from the Erasmus Student Network (ESN) you cna get discounts for things like overnight stays or restaurant meals. Detailed information can be found on the ESN website. Start saving as soon as your feet land at your destination country by applying for the card earlier.

Im Zielland - Gut ankommen & durchstarten

Wie finden Sie Anschluss im Zielland?
Können Sie als Praktikant weiterhin Vorteile für Studierende nutzen?

Sobald Sie in Ihrem Zielland angekommen sind, gilt es noch einige organisatorische Dinge zu berücksichtigen. So müssen Sie sich – je nach Land – bei den örtlichen Behörden anmelden.
Zudem lernen Sie sich schnell in Ihrer neuen Heimat ein, wenn Sie offen und aktiv auf Ihr neues Umfeld zugehen und Kultur- und Sportangebote in Ihrer Umgebung besuchen. Aktuelle Veranstaltungen und Angebote finden Sie meist in den sozialen Netzwerken oder auf den städtischen Internetseiten.

Anreisetipps

Für Ihre Anreise stehen Ihnen zahlreiche Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung – je nach Entfernung – per Flugzeug, Bahn, Bus, Mitfahrgelegenheit oder mit Ihrem eigenen Auto. Prüfen Sie verschiedene Vergleichsportale und die Seiten der jeweiligen Anbieter. Achten Sie dabei auch immer auf Angebote für Studierende oder junge Erwachsene.

Telefon & Internet

Damit das Telefonieren im außereuropäischen Ausland nicht zur Kostenfalle wird, empfiehlt es sich, eine inländische Prepaid-SIM-Karte zu besorgen. Innerhalb der EU entfallen dank des EU-Roamings zusätzliche Kosten für Ihren Mobilfunk. Informieren Sie sich hier zu länderspezifischen Tarifen und Prepaid-SIM-Karten oder fragen Sie bei Ihrem aktuellen Mobilfunkanbieter nach verfügbaren Auslandstarifen.

Praktikantennetzwerke

Für unvergessliche Erinnerungen an Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt sorgt nicht nur der Kontakt mit Einheimischen, sondern auch mit anderen Praktikanten. Hierfür finden Sie in vielen Städten Praktikantennetzwerke, die wöchentliche Treffen und Stammtische anbieten. Zudem finden Sie hier auch Hilfe zu Wohnungssuche, Fahrradkauf, Ausgehtipps und vielem mehr.
Solche Netzwerke finden Sie überwiegend auf den sozialen Plattformen. Suchen Sie auf Facebook oder anderen Plattformen nach Stichworten wie Ihre Stadt + Intern(ship). So finden Sie beispielsweise in Genf die Geneva Intern Association (GIA) oder für Brüssel die Brussels Interns, und viele weitere Netzwerke.
Scheuen Sie sich auch nicht, bei Treffen von international Studierenden vorbeizuschauen. Es gibt auch Stammtische und wöchentliche Treffen von und für Studierende an Hochschulen, bei denen Sie als Praktikanten oder Hochschulmitarbeiter herzlich willkommen sind.

Internationale Studierendenkarten - Rabatte sichern

ISIC
Mit der International Student Identity Card – kurz ISIC – erhalten Sie zahlreiche Vergünstigungen weltweit. Für detaillierte Informationen und für die Beantragung der Karte nutzen Sie bitte die Seite von ISIC. Beantragen Sie die Karte frühzeitig, um bereits bei der Abreise von den Vorteilen profitieren zu können.

ESN
Mit der Mitgliedskarte des Erasmus Student Network (ESN) erhalten Sie Vergünstigungen, beispielsweise für Übernachtungen oder in Lokalen. Detaillierte Informationen finden Sie auf der Seite von ESN. Beantragen Sie die Karte frühzeitig, um bereits bei der Abreise von den Vorteilen profitieren zu können.