Intercultural Preparation - Would a British Man be an alien in New York?

How close is “far” and how far is “just around the corner”?
Will you shake hands with your supervisor?
Will you miss the traditional foods of your home country?

When flying to Kunming, China, you should plan a long flight over Beijing and consider an acclimatization period of 3-4 days. Therefore it’s best not to arrive on Sunday to start the internship on Monday.

If you have a day trip from Tbilisi, Georgia to the infamous Dawid Garedscha monastery, the distance of 50 kilometres does not seem far to you according to German standards. But… 30 kilometres of the route consists of stone roads. Therefore, the walk might take much longer than anticipated.

If you want to complete your research stay in Siberia, a cold shower awaits you in August for two weeks, since many cities complete their yearly maintenance during this time.

And don’t underestimate distances between your home and destination country. Even in countries that are not too far away (such as Austria or Poland), things are quite different than they are in Germany.

What do these situations show you? That you should know the traditions and customs of your destination country? That you should be familiar with culture-specific behaviour?

Bon! Très bon! Therefore, the following subpages will give you an idea of which cultural aspects you should consider while preparing for your trip and how you can adapt to the new culture.

Know Your Own Culture

How well do you know your own culture? Can you explain common behavioural patterns?
How do you want to represent your culture to foreigners?

You usually know what and how to do something… but you usually don’t question why you do things this particluar way.

Without looking at your own culture from a different perspective, you can’t fully explain your own behaviour. Therefore, it’s helpful to understand what other cultures and people consider to be typical in your home country. Consider the clichés and history of your culture in order to better comprehend your roots.

Gifts for guests
Take postcards, photographs, specialties (such as Belgian chocolate if you’re from Belgium), or souvenirs from your home country. Future colleagues, flatmates, or host parents will be delighted to learn something about your culture.

Recognize Cultural Misunderstandings

I really put my foot in it!
You’ve surely heard anecdotes about foreigners accidentally saying something embarassing or upsetting while being abroad (aka putting their foot in it.) These situatios can be funny and instructive, because it results in intense (but uncomfortable) contact with the foreign culture. On the other hand, they can be unpleasant and should generally be avoided in the workplace.

Often such unpleasant situations are the result of misunderstanding. which can largely be avoided by getting to know the cultural peculiarities and differences of your host country. This way, there are less chances for letting stereotypical ideas about foreign cultures take over reality.

Our Tip: Try to observe and describe a situation instead of interpreting it right away.

An example: A student from Cameroon asked his internship supervisor to extend the deadline for an important project report. He explained that his brother is very ill and needs to be taken care of by him (the student.) He spoke very quietly, while the supervisor emphasized the urgency of the report and looked him in the eye. In turn, the Cameroonian avoided the glances which irritated his supervisor. During a lunch break, the supervisor sat with a colleague and tolf him about the trainee’s concerns. She said she doesn’t believe a word he said because he had spoken so quietly and couldn’t look her in the eye: “When I looked at him, he looked away and I don’t know whether he listened to me or understood me.”

With a little background knowledge and intercultural sensitivity, this situation can easily be explained. In Cameroon, it’s common courtesy to speak quietly and avoid eye contact while conversing with elders because it shows respect and esteem to the elder.

Thus, the trainee was polite and respectful towards his supervisor, but was misunderstood. In addition, family is very important in Cameroon (and many other countries), which is why one’s own interests and obligations are sometimes put on the back burner in order to tend to family needs.

How to Deal With Cultural Misunderstandings

In general, many misunderstandings are based on a stereotypical thought: we are used to communicating with people of the same culture and expect our counterparts to behave like us, while the person from a foreign culture thinks the same way. These situations are challenging and can lead to confusion, anger or frustration. But thanks to acquired intercultural competencies, they can be be managed quite well.

If you react to life abroad with anger, impatience, or frustration, be aware of your emotional reaction and:

  • Respect foreign traditions and values, like the role of religion in the foreign society, even if you do not agree with it.
  • Try local food and traditions to reduce inhibitions and prejudice.
  • Be patient and understanding. Working with foreign trainees or employees might also be an unfamiliar experience for your new colleagues.

Also note that cultural differences are particularly noticeable in eating and drinking habits. For example, the (mostly) German and European custom of drinking sparkling water is a peculiarity that can’t always be found in other countries. For example, many Parisians order a pitcher of still water at a restraurant because sparkling water can get pricey in restaurants. In general, sparkling water is reserved for special occasions and for when you really need a refreshing beverage. This might make a German intern might wonder why sparkling water is a bit less common in France.

These are some things to consider when eating local foods:

  • In Asian countries, you should never cross your chopsticks or lay them in an orderly manner for the same length of time because some believe that it could cause bad lucj. Don’t beat chopsticks against bowls or plates either, because this behaviour would be associated with East Asian beggars.
  • Also, don’t leave your chopsticks vertically in a rice bowl.

While preparing for your stay abroad, learn about specific eating and drinking habits. That way, you can avoid embarrassing situations during lunch with other interns and unpleasant moments during a business lunch with your supervisor/clients/research manager.

Cultural Workshops

Participating in a workshop on cross cultural communication fosters cultural sensitivity and teaches students ways they can avoid misunderstandings in social situations. You can find the dates for workshop events in our event schedule, at the International Office of your university, or in adult education centres.

Information on cultural differences and whether one finds their cultural perspective to be right or wrong can be discovered through case studies and online websites.

Academic articles and case studies on intercultural communication can be found through online databases (such as your university’s online library and websites like Google Scholar and JSTOR). You can also find out about intercultural learning on Goethe-Institutes’ website. Expat sites, like Expat News, are also excellent for preparing to move abroad, or you can delve into some of the topics in DAAD’s internship guide.

Students and graduates of TU Dresden can also attend events from the Studi-SPRiNT – Program for optimal intercultural preparation.

Kulturelle Vorbereitung - Ist ein Engländer in New York ein Fremder unter Fremden?

Wie nah ist „weit“ und wie weit ist „um die Ecke“?
Reichen Sie Ihrem Vorgesetzten die Hand zur Begrüßung?
Werden Sie das Essen im Heimatland vermissen?

Wenn Sie nach Kunming in China fliegen, sollten Sie nicht nur mit einem langen Flug über Peking planen, sondern auch eine Akklimatisierungszeit von 3-4 Tagen berücksichtigen – und folglich nicht am Sonntag ankommen, um am Montag mit dem Praktikum starten.
Wenn Sie in Georgien einen kurzen Sonntagsausflug von Tiflis zum berühmten Kloster Dawid Garedscha machen, erscheint Ihnen die Entfernung von 50 Kilometern nach deutschen Verhältnissen nicht weit – doch 30 Kilometer davon sind Steinstraße mit Schrittgeschwindigkeit, weshalb sich der Weg ziehen wird.
Entscheiden Sie sich für einen Forschungsaufenthalt in Sibirien, erwartet Sie im August zwei Wochen eine kalte Dusche – denn genau in dieser Zeit finden alle Wartungsarbeiten bei den Wasserwerken statt.

Was zeigen Ihnen diese Situationen? Dass Sie die Traditionen und Sitten Ihres Ziellandes kennen sollten? Dass Sie ausreichend Erklärungen zu kulturspezifischem Verhalten sammeln sollten? Bon! Très bon! Und unterschätzen Sie dabei nicht die Entfernungen zwischen Heimat- und Zielland – denn auch in Österreich oder Polen ist einiges anders als in Deutschland.
Die folgenden Unterseiten sollen ein erstes Gefühl vermitteln, welche Aspekte Sie bei Ihrer kulturellen Vorbereitung berücksichtigen sollten und wie Sie interkulturelle Begegnungen erfolgreich (er)leben.

Eigene Kultur kennenlernen & vertreten

Wie gut kennen Sie ihre eigene Kultur? Können Sie verbreitete Verhaltensmuster erklären?
Wie wollen Sie Ihre Kultur einer fremden Kultur präsentieren?

Sie wissen meist was und wie Sie etwas machen – doch warum auf diese Art und Weise? Ohne die eigene Kultur aus einer anderen Perspektive zu sehen, können Sie Ihr eigenes Verhalten meist nicht vollständig erklären. Daher ist es als Vorbereitung hilfreich zu verstehen, was andere Kulturen und Menschen als typisch deutsch betrachten.

Setzen Sie sich mit Klischees zu der deutschen Kultur auseinander und auch mit Themen deutscher Geschichte. Gerade die nationalsozialistische Vergangenheit Deutschlands prägt in manchen ausländischen Regionen das Bild eines Deutschen stark.

Für die Vorbereitung finden Sie auch fachbezogene Bücher, wie etwa Typisch deutsch: wie deutsch sind die Deutschen? von Hermann Bausinger.

Gastgeschenke
Nehmen Sie Postkarten, Fotografien oder kleine Spezialitäten aus Ihrem Heimatland mit – Ihre Kollegen, Mitbewohner oder Gasteltern freuen sich, wenn Sie etwas über Ihre Heimat erfahren.

Missverständnisse meistern - Fettnäpfchen vermeiden

Ins Fettnäpfchen treten –
im Englischen – to put one’s foot in it, im Chinesischen –
丢脸 das eigene Gesicht verlieren

Sicherlich haben Sie schon die ein oder andere Anekdote gehört, wie man im Ausland ins Fettnäpfchen treten kann. Dies kann zwar witzig sein und es ist definitiv lehrreich, denn in solchen Situationen ist der Kontakt zu der fremden Kultur besonders intensiv – jedoch sind solche Situationen oftmals auch unangenehm und in der Arbeitswelt zu vermeiden.

Viele Fettnäpfchen sind die Folge eines vorherigen Missverständnisses. Diese lassen sich größtenteils vermeiden, indem Sie vorab kulturelle Besonderheiten und Unterschiede kennenlernen, statt stereotypischen Vorstellungen zu verfallen. Versuchen Sie eine Situation zunächst nur zu beobachten und zu beschreiben, statt direkt zu interpretieren.

Ein Beispiel für das eben Genannte: Ein Student aus Kamerun bittet seine Praktikumsbetreuerin um Verlängerung der Abgabefrist für einen wichtigen Projektbericht. Er erklärt, dass sein Bruder sehr krank ist und er sich um ihn kümmern muss. Der Student spricht sehr leise, während die Betreuerin die Dringlichkeit des Berichtes betont und ihm dabei intensiv in die Augen blickt. Der Kameruner weicht den Blicken aus, was die Betreuerin irritiert. In der Mittagspause trifft sie einen Kollegen und spricht mit ihm über das Anliegen des Praktikanten. Sie sagt, sie glaube ihm kein Wort, da er so leise gesprochen habe und ihr nicht in die Augen sehen konnte: „Wenn ich ihn angeschaut habe, hat er weggeschaut und ich weiß gar nicht, ob er mir zugehört oder mich verstanden hat“.

Mit ein wenig Hintergrundwissen und interkultureller Sensibilität lässt sich diese Situation einfach erklären: In Kamerun ist es üblich, sich bei Gesprächen mit Älteren leise zu äußern und Blickkontakt zu vermeiden. Das ist ein Zeichen des Respekts und der Wertschätzung. Der Praktikant verhielt sich also sehr höflich und respektvoll gegenüber seiner Betreuerin. Zudem ist die Familie in Kamerun (und vielen weiteren Ländern) das Allerwichtigste, weshalb eigene Interessen und Verpflichtungen, wie die Abgabe eines Projektberichtes hinten angestellt werden.

Generell liegt vielen Missverständnissen ein stereotypischer Gedanken zugrunde: Wir sind es gewohnt, mit Personen derselben Kultur zu kommunizieren und erwarten, dass sich unser Gegenüber genau wie wir verhält. Ebenso ergeht es dem Gegenüber aus der fremden Kultur. Eine solche Situation ist herausfordernd und kann zu Verwirrung, Ärger oder Frustration führen. Doch dank erworbener interkultureller Kompetenzen kann sie entschärft, gelöst oder im besten Fall vermieden werden.

Wenn Sie später im Ausland mit Ärger, Ungeduld oder Frustration auf eine Situation reagieren, sollten Sie sich Ihrer emotionalen Reaktion bewusst werden und:

  • fremde Traditionen und Wertesysteme respektieren, z.B. die Rolle der Frau oder der Religion in anderen Kulturen, auch wenn Sie dies nicht nachvollziehen können
  • bewusst typische Dinge der anderen Kultur ausprobieren, z. B. einheimisches Essen, um Hemmschwellen und Vorurteile abzubauen
  • Geduld und Verständnis haben – auch für Ihre Kollegen ist es ggf. eine neue Situation mit einem ausländischen Praktikanten oder Mitarbeiter zusammenzuarbeiten

Beachten Sie auch, dass sich kulturelle Unterschiede besonders bei Ess- und Trinkgewohnheiten bemerkbar machen. Beispielsweise ist die deutsche Sitte, Wasser mit Kohlensäure zu versetzen, eine Besonderheit, die in kaum einem anderen Land wiederzufinden ist. So ist ein alltäglicher Schluck Sprudelwasser einem Franzosen äußerst suspekt, denn dies ist kulturell mit dem Ende des Festtagsessen verbunden. Im Gegenzug wundert sich ein deutscher Praktikant womöglich, warum es standardmäßig nur stilles Wasser in Frankreich zu kaufen gibt.

Auch bei der Art und Weise, wie Sie in anderen Regionen essen, gibt es einiges zu beachten: In asiatischen Regionen sollten Sie Ihre Essstäbchen niemals kreuzen oder gleich lang geordnet vor sich legen – denn dies wird als Unglück betrachtet. Schlagen Sie mit den Essstäbchen auch nicht gegen Schüsseln oder Teller, da dies früher Bettler machten und Ihr Verhalten mit dem in Ostasien traditionellen Zeichen der Bettler assoziiert wird. Und auf keinen Fall darf man Essstäbchen senkrecht in einer Reisschale stecken lassen. Dies findet nur bei Trauerzeremonien statt, um Verstorbenen zu gedenken.

Bereiten Sie sich für Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt also auch auf die spezifischen Ess- und Trinkgewohnheiten vor, denn so vermeiden Sie nicht nur während eines Mittagsimbisses mit anderen Praktikanten peinliche Situationen, sondern auch unangenehme Momente bei dem Geschäftsessen mit Ihrem Vorgesetzen und wichtigen Kunden oder Ihrem Forschungsleiter.

Workshops & weiterführende Hilfe

Die Teilnahme an einem Workshop zur Interkulturellen Kommunikation sorgt für eine gewisse Sensibilität und hilft Missverständnisse zu vermeiden. Termine zu solchen Veranstaltungen finden Sie auf unserer Veranstaltungsseite, im Akademischen Auslandsamt Ihrer Hochschule oder an Volkshochschulen.

Die Frage der „richtigen“ Perspektive lässt sich ausführlich in Fallbeispielen des Deutschen Studentenwerkes nachlesen oder Sie informieren sich zusätzlich auf Seiten des Goethe-Institutes zu interkulturellem Lernen. Auch Seiten für Expats, wie Expat News, eignen sich hervorragend für die kulturelle Vorbereitung auf Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt oder Sie vertiefen einige Themen im Praktikumsratgeber des DAAD. Zudem haben wir Literaturempfehlungen für Ihre interkulturelle Vorbereitung zusammengetragen:

  • Ternès, Anabel; Towers, Ian: Interkulturelle Kommunikation: Länderporträts – Kulturunterschiede – Unternehmensbeispiele
  • Heringer, Hans Jürgen: Interkulturelle Kommunikation: Grundlagen und Konzepte
  • Storti, Craig: The Art of Crossing Cultures

Darüber hinaus können Studierende und Graduierte der TU Dresden für Ihre optimale interkulturelle Vorbereitung das Studi-SPRiNT – Programm nutzen.